(Review originally published in 2007)

Ghost Machinery began its journey in 2002 when Pete Ahonen of Burning Point decided to form a new band since he had come up with a few songs that didn’t fit into the Burning Point vein which he didn’t feel like throwing away. He called two of his old friends (Jussi Ontero and Tapsa Pelkonen) and asked them if they were interested in joining, and apparently they were. After only one demo they secured a two-album deal with Sound Riot Records and this is the result of their first collaboration.

I believe the first time I heard Burning Point was in 2001 when the debut album “Salvation By Fire” had been released, and to put it short; it didn’t impress me. Even though it wasn’t exactly bad or amateurish there was only one song (“Fall Of Thy Kingdom”) that knocked me out – and one single cool track is not enough for me. This is why my expectations on this CD weren’t exactly sky-high to begin with. Anyhow, unlike Burning Point – which represents eighties-inspired heavy/power metal – Ghost Machinery is leaning more towards modern power metal complimented by atmospheric keyboards. The cover artwork looks – as you can see above – pretty good but that’s about all the positive things I can say about this album. Of course, I’m just kidding but to tell the truth; this isn’t the funniest album I’ve heard.

You see, “Haunting Remains” is the type of album that we’ve heard many times before – almost too many. Ghost Machinery’s first attempt is not bad at all when everything comes around, but it’s definitely not a great piece of music either. I have given this album many spins now, and it has given me very little in return. I don’t know, but I somehow feel (and hope!) that their second strike will be more deadlier, so to speak.

To include a whole of thirteen songs is a damn bold move – too bold for a band like Ghost Machinery, unfortunately. This makes the album collapse under its own weight – more or less. Now regarding the vocals, Pete is a pretty good singer even if he has a tendency of sounding a bit boring in the long run. But on the other hand, it’s very hard to make a lasting impression when you have more or less nothing to work with, if you get my point.

I also feel it’s my duty as a reviewer to mention that former Sentenced frontman Ville Laihiala (now in Poisonblack) and Mikko Myllylä (Wildcard) perform vocals respective all guitars on the Gary Moore cover “Out In The Fields”.

Although “Haunting Remain” is kind of simple it still leaves a very serious and proper impression, which (of course) is fun to see and hear. The album certainly has its moments but it still adds very little to an already crowded style – in terms of quality, that is.

Peter Eliasson

01. World Of Unbelievers
02. Blinded Eyes
03. Temples Of Gold
04. Evil Within Us
05. Down In Flames
06. Dreamworld
07. From The Edge Of The World
08. Darkest Hour
09. Fallen Angels
10. Heaven Or Hell
11. In Your (EVil) Dreams
12. Out In The Fields (Gary Moore cover)
13. Shadows

Comments are closed.

Writers wanted